Forsaken…Chp 5!

the great iowa book event Creighton knew something was wrong. Why else would that fucking Gelati touch him like he was some long-lost friend coming home from a distant land. He rubbed at his skin, trying to remove an invisible virus, Gelati had enslaved upon him. It was time to be careful, but Peter Bater was now at the top of his list, and the thought of draining the man’s blood was almost unbearable for him to stay hidden.
Slowly opening the door to his apartment, the sweet aroma of a woman’s scent filled his nostrils. Not fucking now. He stepped into the room, eyes locked on his guest. She had coal-black hair, was scantily clad in the latest Victoria Secret fashion, and to top it off, laying seductively on his futon, holding a glass of his expensive Chablis. A mischievous grin filled her face. Tiffany LaMotte was all of twenty-three, but she didn’t act like the majority of someone her age. She was well aware how adults played; inviting for Creighton to pass the time, without attached strings. He had penciled her in for execution as well, but only when her usefulness was exhausted, and not a moment earlier. The sex was explosive. He returned the smile, removing his suit coat. “I see you found your way in… again.”
Tiffany licked her lips as she stood up, revealing more. “I did. Weird though… your door was unlocked.”
Huh? Unlocked? Creighton met her halfway, giving her a moist greeting. “Really? I must have forgotten, when I left this morning.” A wave of anxiousness flooded over him. Someone had been here…fucking Gelati.
Smiling, Tiffany nestled against him; his back went rigid. “You okay?”
Creighton backed away. “Hey Tiff, it’s been a long day. Another murder victim was found, not really in the mood.”
Seemingly hurt, she pushed the black hair away from her eyes. “Sorry. Just thought you wouldn’t mind…”
What did he really know about this woman? Just met her a few days ago. Looking into her eyes, he brushed his fingers along her cheek. “Can I take a rain check? Promise tomorrow, I will have a better mindset for you.”
Tiffany nodded. “I understand.” She turned away, collecting all her clothes. A forceful kiss later, and she was out the door. Creighton stared after her; until he heard the footsteps on the landing disappear. Focusing his attention on his apartment, Creighton began searching room by room, for any trace of an intruder. It wasn’t by chance; Steve Creighton was promoted to Lead Detective for Cutter’s Pass. The ability to find evidence was his specialty; within an hour, he found what he was looking for…
* * * * *
Pete and Harold were huddled in the backseat of the car, whispering so Gelati couldn’t listen in. A worried look passed over the husky Italian, as he stared into the empty eyes of his brother. “You aren’t going to do this guy like you did that executioner in Australia are you?”
“No, I have something much better in mind for him. Do you think our dear brother will turn his head again? I mean… I have been a good boy, turning you guys onto all his tricks thus far. I just want to do to him what should be done. Besides that, I will be saving the taxpayers hard-earned money, time and electricity. I mean why wait, when I can provide one stop shopping for this miserable bastard. He really shows very little originality in his crime scene, but the decapitation, was a little bit of an escalation.
Harold shook his head. “A little of an escalation?”
Peter laughed “I promise to unhinge this guy.” I can smell the need and desire on him. The problem for him is… my need is getting to be way larger than his. I want this pretty bad. Did you guys remember my tools to play with? If not, we need to make a few stops.”
“Pete, no bag of tricks.” He shrugged. “Gelati, was specific, when he said just you. No extra tools from your former profession. He was pretty adamant the Mayor and Chief of Police want this guy alive.
Peter raised a hand. “Improvising works for me… just for now, though.” Did you call Bart like I asked?”
“Yes I did.”
Peter pointed to his sleeping brother. “You didn’t tell him, right?”
“Of course I didn’t tell him, if that’s what you want to know, but I should. This is getting way more complex than I can handle. That is what he is for, putting the pieces together. When he wakes up, we need to let him in on this. A devilish grin started to form. “Just maybe, you will get a pat on the back.”
Peter snapped his fingers. “Hmmm, okay, you’re telling him! I will just smile a bit, and soak it all in. Give Bart a quick call just to confirm everything.”
“Good idea.” Harold reached down, grasping his cell phone. A few finger motions on the touch screen and the familiar voice of their middle brother greeted the two. ”Hey, you know what we talked about? We still good?”
“Yes, I am going to bring Gelati in on this… when he decides to wake up.”
“Okay Harold, do it… take this shit off my hands.”
“It’s settled then. I will call you back soon.” Harold shoved the phone roughly back onto its holder. Short lived relief quieted him.
Gelati opened his eyes, glaring at the conspirators. “Okay you two… what are you planning behind my back again?”
Peter folded his arms. “I have no idea what you mean, dear brother.” Sincerity was absent in his delivery.
Gelati snickered. “Did you think I was actually sleeping? Christ you are so predictable.”
Harold raised a hands in defense. “I am sorry. Peter had an idea and Bart and thought it could work.”
Gelati had actually dozed off, but he wasn’t going to share this little piece of information “Okay… what is it… spit it out. You are implementing a plan put together by a sociopath that kills without remorse. Gelati pounded his fists into the leather seat. He fucking lives in a mental institution… and Harold, my supposedly “smart” brother, you just go along with it without telling me?
Peter eyes widened, as Gelati’s voice reached a fearful octave. “Not too damn-well mention, Bart; our imprisoned brother is helping you. You have got to be kidding me? Why would I be able to sleep around you guys? Spit it the hell out, what is the damn plan?”
“The plan, my dear brother, is that Bart knows a mutual friend… girl that is, and sent her in Detective Creighton’s direction the other night… umm, without your approval of course.” Peter smirked.
Gelati almost came unglued from his seat. “What? You guys will get that woman killed.”
Harold put a hand out to stop Gelati’s advance. “Look, she was willing to help us.” He turned, looking out the window. “And I told her… you would give her some money”
Gelati’s hands went to his face. “Wonderful, how much?”
Harold smiled. We will talk about that later. But look, If Creighton tries to lay one hand on her; Peter will show him in, graphic terms… his imaginative techniques.”
Gelati rubbed his temples. I’m fucked. He bore into the two brothers “If she dies… this will eat us alive!”
Peter’s eyes gleamed. She won’t… I promise.”
Reluctantly, Gelati pushed a button on his laptop. “Call Bart, tell him to have this girl do what she does best, but… fucking be careful. If this bastard catches on, he will rip her apart, and we’re done!” Gelati’s eyes were fixated on the motionless red blip, afraid of what just might await the group.

Leave a Reply

